Souls – Ednah Walters


I was provided an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. All thoughts are 100% mine. You can read my review for book 1 here, book 2 here, book 3 here, and book 4 here.


Eighteen-year-old Cora Jemison knows what it’s like to date a soul reaper. There are no Friday night movies, no school dances, and no stolen kisses between classes. It totally sucks! What makes it even worse, souls pop up when she least expects it. The last one is not her fault, but it all adds up to zero quality time with her super hot, scythe-carrying boyfriend, Echo.

Since Cora was etched with special runes by an evil Immortal, she understands why souls are drawn to her. She makes the best of it by helping souls find closure while Echo escorts them to the realm of the dead. Perfect partners, until a dark soul visits Cora in the dead of the night and Echo decides her soul-helping days are over.

Cora can either listen to Echo or follow her instincts. To make matters worse, other reapers start stalking her, demanding she hand over the soul. Even her Valkyrie friends think she’s gone too far. But something sinister is coming their way, and the soul is the key to saving her town, her friends, and her relationship with Echo. Can she convince Echo to see things her way before it’s too late?

My Thoughts

We’re back in Cora’s mind in this book, like in Grimnirs. But we’re still re-united with the rest of the Valkyrie gang. Though I know this is a spinoff set of stories from the Runes stories, I feel that as far as timeline is concerned these need to be read in order of the way they’re written. We’re just getting the Grimnir side of things instead of straight Valkyrie side. In this particular book, Cora is confronted with a dark soul. This one doesn’t intend her harm and like all the other souls she chooses to help, this one also needs closure…with Echo. Only one problem. Echo wants to send this particular soul to Hel’s Hall. It is the soul of a very old and dear friend of his, Dev, from before his immortal days. We’re also introduced to another of Echo’s old friends. Rhys and Rhys’ cousin, Nara. Due to the escalating situation, Echo calls on his Grimnir friends to keep a watch over Cora as well as the Valkyries. Things are also getting troublesome for Raine during this time and she can’t be there for Cora as much as she wants, nor can Cora be there for her as much. We’ll also see some familiar villains faces, or situations created by some others. I know I know…vague and tantalizing.

I will say that Rhys seems interesting, but not nearly as much as Dev. Dev is sweet, devilish, charming, and disarming. I can’t wait to see how else he’ll incorporate into the story, if Ms. Walters chooses to incorporate him any more than this one book. Of course the entire Valkyrie crew shows their faces, albeit briefly. Eirik even makes a grand entrance. ( I can’t wait to see what is in store for that one. With each glimpse of him, he becomes even larger than life than before.)

Ednah Walters doesn’t fail in this book. Cora and Echo still have the same sizzle. I do believe that heat is even starting to transfer to Torin and Raine. 😉 The story is still just as solid and all the voices (and there are now quite a few!) are distinct and each character has his/her own story to tell. I can’t wait for Ms. Walters to tell them all. 🙂 I will say that this is not the clean version. If you want to stick to YA, get that version instead. If, however, a little nookie doesn’t upset you, please do get this. I would definitely recommend this book to others to read. But like Grimnirs, I’d suggest the cleaner version for the younger women in my life whereas the adults will be suggested this book.

About the Author

The Guardian Legacy series: YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. Awakened (book 0 prequel), Betrayed (book 1), Hunted (book 2), and Forgotten (book 4). She’s presently working on the last book in the series, tentatively titled, Vindicated (book 5).

Runes Series: a Young adult paranormal romance about Norse mythology, reapers and immortals. Runes (book 1), Immortals (book 2), Seeress (book 3), and she is presently working on Witches (book 4).

Grimnirs Series: This is a spinoff the Runes series and can be read alone or with the Runes series: Grimnirs (book 1), Souls (book 2).

The Fitzgerald Family Series: Contemporary romance under the pseudonym E. B. Walters. You can visit her online on FB, her blog, or at and


1 Comment

Filed under Ednah Walters

One response to “Souls – Ednah Walters

  1. Pingback: Witches (Book 6 of the Runes series) – Ednah Walters | Textual Love

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s