Nocte – Courtney Cole

Nocte

This book was purchased by me. All thoughts are 100% my own.

Blurb

SAVE ME AND I’LL SAVE YOU….

My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole.
My other half– my twin brother, my Finn– is crazy.

I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.

I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.

Dare DuBray.

He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me.
He has the power to destroy me.

Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why? Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.

You won’t either.

*****

LETTER FROM THE AUTHOR:

Dear Reader,

I once considered not writing this story. It was too dark, too twisted, too much, too, too, too.

Obviously, I changed my mind. But I re-wrote it in four different ways first, trying to make it different, more easily palatable, softer.

It didn’t work.

So I went back to my original idea, the idea that I loved. The idea that I dreamed about and lived and breathed until it was done the way I wanted it, the way it has to be.

I know you’re capable of reading it. I know you’re capable of putting yourselves back together again when it’s all over. I have faith in you.

Is this story dark?
Yes.

It is twisted?
At times.

Will it slap you in the face?
Absolutely.

Will it have you flipping the pages, trying to figure it out, trying to get to the climax, trying to breathe?
God, I hope so.

I wrote this story the way it needed to be written. I couldn’t sugarcoat it. I couldn’t water it down. It is this way because the story demands it.

I’m not sorry.

My Thoughts
This book has a surprisingly few cast of characters. Mostly Calla Price, her twin Finn, her dad, and Dare DuBray. You see a few others, but not many. Calla is dealing with a lot right now. Her Mom passed away, her brother suffers from a debilitating mental illness. She meets Dare and he is the distraction that she needs. And really, that’s what happened. He helped her to realize that there is more than death. But I cannot go further than this. To go any further will ruin it for you.

My thoughts on this book are in such a mess right now. I loved the book. I got immersed in the characters and Finn’s character really interested me. I knew a guy who suffered from Schizoaffective Disorder among a few other things. So it was interesting to see the author’s take on it. I will say that the twist shocked me. It made me ugly cry and I don’t do that often over a book. I even had to put the book down a time or two because I couldn’t see well enough to read through the tears. Yeah, it was intense. It left me with more questions than answers, though it did answer the biggest question about Finn’s “Secret”. The second book, Verum, is to be released on Feb. 2, 2015, so hopefully we’ll get some more answers. But honestly, I’m not sure. Right now, my whole world is kattywhompus and I don’t know if it’ll ever be right again.

Ms. Cole weaved a tale that was mesmerizing and manipulative. As the reader, we are instantly sucked into her world, and without us being aware of it, we start our own descent. And though you are forewarned about it being twisted, it is still jarring and shocking when we’re forced to confront it. I’ll be honest and say that I’m glad that I waited to read this until closer to time for Verum to be released. And it remains to be seen if I’d wished I’d waited for the last book before reading any of them at all. Would I recommend this book? That’s the burning question….HECK YEAH!!!!!! I’d do my level best to warn anyone wanting to read it without giving it away, but me oh my! This book is too good to keep to myself! Thank you Ms. Cole for NOT changing how you’d write it, regardless of what your critics say. This book is really that good.

About the Author

Courtney Cole is a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling novelist who would rather write than eat chocolate. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Business, but no amount of working in the corporate world could quell her urge to write.

Courtney was born and raised in Kansas, home of incredibly friendly people and the most horrendous weather on the planet. Because summer days were so hot, she grew up reading stacks of books… and when she didn’t like the ending, she wrote her own.

Courtney has relocated to Florida where she writes beneath palm trees. To learn more about her, please visit her website, http://www.courtneycolewrites.com To sign up for her newsletter and receive exclusive sneak peeks and super-fan perks, go here: http://smarturl.it/CourtneyColeEmail

Leave a comment

Filed under Courtney Cole

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

