Whipped – Karpov Kinrade ***LAUNCH DAY!!!***

“If you can’t sell a dildo in Vegas, you’re doing it wrong.” Vi, 

Yup–that’s Vi, a feisty redhead with mischievous green eyes and an attitude to match.

Whipped-KarpovKinrade-500pxI received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest opinion. All thoughts are 100% my own.

Blurb

Vi: If you can’t sell a dildo in Vegas, you’re doing it wrong. That’s why I opened Whipped–a sex toy store. Because sex and Sin City go together like… well, like sex and Sin City.

I’ve seen everything–and I mean EVERYTHING–which is why the guy who comes in every week with a new flavor of arm candy buying yet another set of sex toys doesn’t surprise me. But when he becomes my new roommate, well…

Lachlan: I’m a male stripper. I’m not ashamed of it–in fact, I fucking love it. I turn girls on five nights a week. With a stare. With a sway of the hips. Then I take them home and fuck their brains out. I live by three rules: No commitments. No falling in love. Only mind-blowing orgasms.

Now I want more.

But Vi isn’t interested in a fuck buddy, and I’ve never been one to stick to a single girl.

They say that what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas. But when you live here full time…

That’s when things really get interesting.

Whipped (Vi’s story) is a sexy, full-length, standalone romance in the Hitched series. These books can be read in any order, but you might also enjoy Hitched, the first book in this series.

Content Warning: This book contains sex, swearing… and did we mention sex? Lots of sex. And abs. And Australian accents.

Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Add it to your Goodreads list!

My Thoughts

We meet Vi and Lachlan. Vi used to be a Dominatrix but decided to move on to something different. So she and a friend Zoe opened a sex toy shop called Whipped. Lachlan is an Australian male stripper who loves to come to her shop with a different woman and buy things for their fun times together. Unbeknownst to both of them, they’ve been chatting each other up online about possibly living together as roommates temporarily. Then they meet up to find out if they could live with one another and each recognized the other.

Vi has more layers than she realizes and Lachlan is much more than a pretty face and body. And in this story the two of them come together and peel back their layers and get to the true person underneath. There are things I really loved about this book. I loved that though this is a guy who has a different woman every night, once he set his sights on Vi, all that was done, with no worries or regrets. And I really loved that Vi never worried about it because she was secure in Lachlan’s feelings for her. I also loved her parents. That are the sort of parent I wish I could be with my son. Someone who is open about their own life and is accepting of his. You could really tell why Vi was as open as she was. I had one favorite scene in the book and that was the paintball scene. I laughed SO hard reading that I had tears falling down my cheeks.

There were a few things that I wasn’t too fond of, but they aren’t major or deal breakers with the book. I had a hard time investing in the characters because they were telling me a story, even so far as addressing me (the reader). So it was hard for me to feel as though I were the character. Another issue for me was the pacing of the story. There’s so much detail given to things like the paintball war and to his dance, but there was a lot of time that was glossed over in a sentence or two. Maybe something could have been done to bridge that better for me. I don’t know. Overall, I still really enjoyed the book.

The husband/wife duo of Karpov Kinrade wrote an endearing book about a man who has a heart of gold and a woman who has hardly any fear. I enjoyed the book that they wrote, and the humor is so evident throughout the book. I can only imagine that these two people are a riot to be around. The question is, would I recommend this book. I would. I would make sure that people understood that it was adult oriented.

About the Author

Karpov Kinrade is the pen name for the husband and wife writing duo of bestselling, award-winning, multi-genre authors Kimberly Kinrade and Dmytry Karpov.

Together, they write fantasy, paranormal, mystery, contemporary and romance novels and hook readers into new and exciting worlds with writing that blends side-splitting humor, heart-wrenching drama, spine-tingling twists and sigh-inducing happily ever afters.

Look for more from Karpov Kinrade in the Nightfall Chronicles, the Hitched series, the Call Me Cat Trilogy, the Seduced Saga, the Forbidden Trilogy and more coming soon.

They live with three little girls who think they’re ninja princesses with super powers and who are also showing a propensity for telling tall tales and using the written word to weave stories of wonder and magic.

Find them at ReadKK.com

Sign up for Karpov Kinrade’s superfan newsletter and get excerpts, teasers, and access to fabulously sexy giveaways!

Leave a comment

Filed under Karpov Kinrade

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

