Hearts of Fire – L.H. Cosway

Hearts of Fire Blog Tour Button

LHCHeartsFireCover6x9

Synopsis

The Circus Spektakulär is proud to present Jack McCabe: Fire-breather, knife-thrower, risk-taker. 

My house burned down when I was just a boy, robbing me of both my parents.

Now I breathe fire, eat the poison that almost killed me.

Crowds come to see me night after night. Men for the spectacle, women for the thrill. I’m an oddity to be stared at and desired. With each flame I spit, I risk my life.

I wear scars on my body that will never go away, but the scars inside my head are far more difficult to overlook.

My brother doesn’t know me, and if I have it my way he never will.

Life was going exactly the way I’d planned until Lille came along. She wanted to run away with the circus, have an adventure, but this world was never meant for her.

I try to keep her safe, because she doesn’t know the dangers that are out here on the road. She doesn’t know the monsters that lurk behind the bright lights of the ring. In truth, I could be considered one of them.

We were fashioned from different cloths, never intended to mix. So I watch her. I try not to touch, even when her eyes invite me.

Join us in the Spiegeltent and let us give you a show. Allow my Lille to draw a picture for you in paint and sweat and skin.

The truest love is always the hardest to let in.

This is a standalone romance that tells the story of Jack McCabe, Jay Fields’ long lost, presumed dead brother. It is not necessary to have read Six of Hearts in order to enjoy Hearts of Fire.

Release Date: March 9th

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23488088-hearts-of-fire?from_search=true

Hearts-of-Fire-4

Excerpt

Somebody swore profusely from behind me, and I turned to find Jack trying to light a cigarette. The wind wasn’t doing him any favours, and he couldn’t get the flame to stay lit. Not wanting him to see me, I began walking swiftly in the opposite direction. I didn’t get far when he was suddenly behind me. He looped his finger through my belt and practically dragged me to the corner he’d been standing in.

“What the fu….”

“Stay still,” he ordered. “I need you to block the wind.”

I didn’t have any snappy comebacks, so I simply stood there, amazed by his gruffness. Hadn’t anyone ever taught him simple manners? When I looked at him, I thought that maybe they hadn’t. I could easily imagine him as a little Mowgli type, being raised by animals in the jungle.

He flicked the lighter and finally got the smoke lit. Inhaling deeply, then exhaling, he watched me all the while. I shivered, and not from the cold. I felt like there was an atmosphere between us, but it was more than likely all on my end. I was good at imagining things, especially sexual tension. And I was well-acquainted with the one-sided kind.

“Are my services required further, sir?” I asked with a hint of sass. I mean, I’d been his wind-blocker, and he hadn’t even said thanks.

Just like last night, he almost smiled, and I hated that it was wondrous. I could have painted an entire mural of his jaw line alone. He flicked off the ash and leaned back against the wall behind him.

“So, you’re staying with Lola?”

“Yes, and Violet.”

“That’ll be fun.”

“Are you being sarcastic?”

“Are you?”

“What?”

“Nothing.”

“You’re weird.”

He took a step forward and stared down at me, teeth flashing as he spoke. “And I bet I could make you like it.”

Hearts-of-Fire-1

My Thoughts

Where to start. oh where to start? We meet Lille. She’s stuck under her Mother’s thumb and hates it there. But our little Lille has a list, you see. And on that list she has things she wants to accomplish. And so her adventure starts with a trip to the circus on their last day in town. She has knives thrown at her by THE Jack McCabe, Fire-breather extraordinaire, knife wielder and all around sex on legs. That’s the first step to her new adventure. Doing something dangerous.

Hearts-of-Fire-2

Lille is sweet and innocence. Trusting and naive is she. Jack is dark and scary. Broody and moody, he be. But as she’s drawn to his darkness, his stillness, his undercurrent. He’s drawn to her light, her vibrancy, her openness. And their love story is beautiful. It’s innocence, like children. It’s full of pent-up passions trying to break free. It’s a fast friendship in a place friendship should never exist to blossom into a love that’s deep and powerful and abso-freaking-lute. I LOVE how absolutely and unquestioning Jack feels for Lille. And Lille never once questioned her own feelings for him. She’s so open about how highly she regards him. She’s an OPEN FREAKING BOOK. And because he knows how she sees him, he aspires to be the man she sees him to be. (HOW FREAKING AWESOME IS THAT?!?!?)

Hearts-of-Fire-3

Ms. Cosway is by far one of my favorite writers of all times. She creates such amazing stories with broken people who fit each other like perfect puzzle pieces. Her stories are gritty and raw and are beautiful BECAUSE of it. I love how there’s a small momentary reference to past books. It might be a sentence or a paragraph. Of course in this one it’s directly related to Six of Hearts, because he is Jay Fields brother. The brother he thought died in the fire that killed his parents. But as we can see, Jack is very much alive. I will say that Ms. Cosway knows how to handle abuse. She does it gently and with restraint and with regard and with strength. Her characters are SCARRED for it. They display inappropriate behaviours to try to DEAL with it. But they manage still. They persevere. They manage to LIVE, LOVE, and CARRY ON.

And music seems to play a very crucial role to her writing process. She’s always bringing up her playlists. 🙂 (I love her quirky style and how it sets the mood.) This playlist is no different.

Hearts of Fire
Embed Code:

I guess it is a silly question about whether or not I’d recommend this book? OF COURSE I WOULD! So buy it. Love it. Devour it. It’s HAWT. More than just the fact that he’s a fire-breather. The naughty scenes are intense, raw, hard, bare. Much like Jack himself is. They are simply MORE.

Check out the video trailer at the end of the post. It’s definitely amazing.

And if you’ve made it this far, L.H. Cosway is having a giveaway of the pictured goodies. So sign up silly folks! Try to win some awesomeness!

Giveaway

The author is giving away (open internationally):

1st prize: Hearts of Fire tote bag

Signed copy of Six of Hearts

Signed copy of Hearts of Fire

Hearts of Fire pocket mirror

2nd prize: Signed copy of Hearts of Fire

Hearts of Fire pocket mirror

HoFprizepack

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Buy Links

Six of Hearts

Amazon

Smashwords

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple

Hearts of Fire

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TWI01ZU

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00TWI01ZU?%2AVersion%2A=1&%2Aentries%2A=0

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hearts-of-fire-lh-cosway/1121256824?ean=2940046585117

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/hearts-of-fire/id969197942?mt=11

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/519786

About the Author

authorpic1

L.H. Cosway has a BA in English Literature and Greek and Roman Civilisation, and an MA in Postcolonial Literature. She lives in Dublin city. Her inspiration to write comes from music. Her favourite things in life include writing stories, vintage clothing, dark cabaret music, food, musical comedy, and of course, books.

She thinks that imperfect people are the most interesting kind. They tell the best stories.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LHCosway

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LHCosway

Mailing List: http://www.lhcoswayauthor.com/p/mailing-list.html

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/lhcosway13/

Website: http://www.lhcoswayauthor.com

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Tour, L.H. Cosway

One response to “Hearts of Fire – L.H. Cosway

  1. Pingback: King of Hearts – L.H. Cosway | Textual Love

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

