Clay’s Hope (Judgement of the Six Series Companion Book 1) – Melissa Haag


I received an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. All thoughts are 100% my own. My review of Hope(less) can be found here.


Clay is a man of few human talents. As a wolf, he hunts well and can fight off a grizzly twice his size, but has no aspirations. The idea of a Mate isn’t something he has ever seriously entertained. Dreamed about, maybe, but he knows the chances are nearly non-existent.

Then he meets Gabby, a human girl. She hates him at first sight, yet he can’t let her go. Who he was is no longer important. Now, who he needs to become to win her over is the only thing that matters.

My Thoughts

This book is Clay’s and Gabby’s story told from Clay’s POV. If you’d read Hope(less) you know that Clay is silent for the whole of the book with the exception of one word in the middle and at the very end. So getting this book was so enlightening. Generally I’m iffy on companion books. Most of the time they’re a rehashing of the exact same thing with no other new input. Which doesn’t work when you have a character that gives feedback, even if you don’t get their point of view. In Clay’s Hope, it works because we really don’t have a path into his mind because he’s so silent.

I really enjoyed this book. I loved getting into Clay’s head and finding out that Gabby was wrong so many times. Clay’s a great, sweet guy in Hope(less) and he still is in Clay’s Hope, but there’s more to him than that. And it makes this character oh so much more.

Ms. Haag is furthering her world of the Judgement of the Six series. And even though we re-visit the first book, we have such a new view on it, and it gives us insight into the minds of these werewolf men and their society that we can’t fully grasp with the other books. I hope she continues with these companion books. It would be so wonderful to know the back stories and thoughts and emotions of these strong werewolves. So, would I recommend this book? OF course I would. I would recommend reading Hope(less) first, then reading Clay’s Hope. You’ll find, together, they tell an amazingly beautiful story.

About the Author

Melissa Haag currently resides in Wisconsin with her husband and three children. Touch was her first published novel. She is currently working on book five of the Judgement of the Six Series…along with several other new books.

Register for her newsletter to learn more about her upcoming projects, and subscribe to her mailing list for deleted scenes, deals, and giveaways, go to

or connect with Melissa at:

Twitter: @imagine2live

Judgement of the Six in order:
(Dis)content **Book 5–coming summer 2015**

Judgement of the Six Companion series:
Clay’s Hope **Book 1–coming summer 2015**


Leave a comment

Filed under Melissa Haag

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s