Tryst – Arie Lane

tryst

I own a copy of this book. All thoughts are 100% my own.

blurb

***WARNING*** This book is intended for 18+ due to strong language, violent scenarios, and sexual content.

Bentley Celeste is a witty, foul mouthed, reclusive, dark romance writer. She lives her life in solitude, hiding from her painful past and the one person hell bent on destroying her future. She doesn’t have time for relationships and has no interest in allowing anyone but her best friend into her private little sanctuary.

Tristan Reece is sultry, sexy, and jaded. He also happens to be the cover model for Bentley’s long time acquaintance, Electra. He believes everyone who he loves is going to betray him, and then walk away. Though he carries the reputation of a ladies man, Tristan prefers to keep his heart and his bed empty.

A chance meeting blind sides Bentley as she’s nearly trampled by the giant wall of muscle that is Tristan. Tempers aren’t the only thing to fly. Bentley may not have any interest in Tristan, but after getting his ass handed to him through a verbal assault, he can’t forget the tiny Spitfire that sparks more than just his fury.

Both are stubborn, with the will to fight against each other until the very end. Will Tristan’s determination be enough to fight the demons lingering in Bentley’s shadow? Or is Bentley’s fear strong enough to tear them apart.

Blog Images

We meet Bentley and Tryst at an author signing in Bentley’s hometown. She’s short and curvy and a mouth on her that would cause a navy guy to blush to his roots. Tryst is a cover model for one of the authors at the signing and he thinks he’s the gift placed on this Earth for women. To say that he rubs her the wrong way would be an understatement. To say that she intrigues him would be even more of one. There’s a lot that I could say, but since there is a second book, I won’t put it here. What I will say is this. Some parts of this book had me laughing like a braying donkey. I wished I could say that I enjoyed this book more than I did, but I couldn’t get as into it as I would have liked. I didn’t find the characters that likeable. Well, I didn’t find Tryst that likeable and frankly, I think his behavior bordered on that of someone who should be in prison rather than someone to reward with sex and love. He’s brash and assuming and though Bentley made it ABUNDANTLY clear (as in literally kicking his butt), he still persisted. He moved across the street from her after having met her over a single weekend. Yeah….just no.
Ms. Lane’s debut book, offers a lot of promise, and though I felt that this particular book didn’t meet up to it, I would by far, not discount her as an author to follow. I do see a lot of potential in her and do look forward to seeing what she puts out there in the future. So would I recommend this book? I would put it out there. And just because I didn’t like it so much, doesn’t mean that others wouldn’t, because honestly, it’s not a bad book, it’s just not for me. This is definitely for the adult crowd, it does get kinda steamy in there.

about

Arie Lane is an avid reader and stay at home mom to two beautiful little boys. When not writing or chasing them around she is usually catching up with other Indie authors and constantly keeping up with new blogs.
She loves to connect with people and is proud that she finally had the courage to put some of her crazy thoughts into written words. From the time she started reading her nose was always stuck in a book and she’s couldn’t be happier that now she’s encouraging others to get their noses stuck also. Even if her readers are of the +18 variety.

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Arie Lane

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

