Phoenix Rising – Elise Faber

phoenix rising

I own a copy of this book. All thoughts are 100% my own.

blurb

A dangerous man with piercing green eyes.

A powerful ability that is rearing out of control.

Daughtry stumbles into a world where magic is real and the possibilities for her future are greater than she’s ever believed possible.

But the road to that future isn’t easy to navigate.

As she engages in a wrenching game of give and take with Cody, the man who’s gripped her heart in his sexy-as-hell fist from the moment she’s met him, Daughtry must decide whether she’s willing to risk it all — heart, mind, and magic — to take a chance on the man she loves.

Blog Images

We meet Daughtry at quite possibly the lowest points in her life. Seriously low. I don’t think I’ve ever been at such a state that I’d consider doing what she was considering to do. But she was met just in time by an old friend named John. From there, it just starts getting odd. John isn’t what he seems, but then neither is Daughtry. And when some super bad Dalshie decide that she needed to die, John and his friend Cody turn out to be some of her biggest allies.

I will say that though there is MUCH love for Cody. I have a soft spot in my heart for John. I haven’t read the second book yet (it’s the next on my list to read, but I wanted to write this review for this book first!), so I don’t know if or what happens with John. But I will simply say that I REALLY like that guy. I hope to read more about him later. Same for Tyler and Dante and the triplets and Suz. GAH! There’s just so much room for expansion in this series. There are twists to this that you won’t see coming. Some you will then they’ll get twisted back on you. Like the head honcho Dalshie…I went DO WUT!?!?! For reals. Then when she did that thing, you know after that one vision….I was like NOOOOOOOO!!!!! Oh yeah, this book is good. 😀

Ms. Faber has done an amazing job of weaving a world that rubs up on our own. It’s not all mapped out and I still have questions, but it’s like as Daughtry finds out, we do too. So there’s a lot left assumed that we know, because it’s assumed that she does. But that just leaves us more to figure out and learn as we go along. Oh boy howdy would I LOVE to know Cody’s POV. Just sayin’. So Ms. Faber if you EVER read this…..help a gal out ovah hee-ahhh. So, the question is, would I recommend this book. Yep. I most indeedily would. Actually, I am wondering why I’ve taken so long to start reading them myself. But this is good for anyone over 16 or so. There’s some no no business, but it’s nothing graphic.

about

When she’s not writing best-selling dark and sexy paranormal romances, Elise is often found on the ice rink where she and her husband hold regular hockey date nights. She is the mom to two exuberant boys and addicted to Dancing With the Stars. The beaches, mountains and redwood forests of Northern California serve as inspiration for her books. Connect with her on facebook (facebook.com/elisefaberauthor), twitter (@faberelise) or http://www.elisefaber.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Elise Faber

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

