Dark Phoenix – Elise Faber

dark phoenix

I own a copy of this book. All thoughts are 100% my own.

blurb

Black magic. Immoral monsters. Death. And bone-deep, soul-to-soul love with a green-eyed man hell-bent on owning every part of her heart.

Daughtry’s life changed forever when she bonded with Cody and began to control her visions. Yet as she masters her magic, those very same abilities threaten to harm the people she holds most dear.

When an opportunity arises for her to fix a past wrong, does she dare risk using her magic in order to set things right again?

A soul sweeping darkness is lurking at the Colony, making the choice for her and threatening the world she’s built for herself. But Daughtry soon discovers that if she’s to have the future and love she’s always wanted, she must fight for it.

Blog Images

We pick up where we left off in the other book. You’re still stuck with the HOLY COW moment. (thank goodness I didn’t have to wait to read this, I’d have been chewing my fingers to nubs!) And this book was a roller coaster, I’ll just tell you. One moment, I’m crying because Daughtry truly has hurt feelings and justifiably so. The next I’m madder than a wet hen because people are being jerkfaces (honestly there was a time or two I wanted to break Cody’s jaw…just sayin’…). Then I’m crying again because something super sweet and poignant is happening. (I’ve not been this emotionally unstable since I was a young girl dealing with “girl” stuff.) Then I was happy because YAY!, but then BAWLING because yeah…

I will say we’re back with our cast of characters. We Dante, Cody, Daughtry, John, Tyler, Suz, and the Triplets. Morgan is one of the triplets you get to know best. I love them all. There’s also new folks. You get to know Francis better and he’s a cool old man. Plus you get to meet Laila, Bridgett, and Dominick. Love them too. I can’t wait to see what all goes on there.

Ms. Faber’s ability to world weave is really wonderful. She lets you know enough to get you involved and slowly lets you know bits and pieces, like really learning a new culture. Too much too soon and blah, it feels overwhelming. Not enough and you feel lost and become uninterested. I’m really enjoying this series of hers. Again, why did I wait so long to start reading them? Stupid TBR list being longer than a country mile. So would I recommend this story? Yes I would, though the heat in this one is more than the last one, so I’d caution off on the younger crowd. (but it’s still not erotic graphic.)

about

When she’s not writing best-selling dark and sexy paranormal romances, Elise is often found on the ice rink where she and her husband hold regular hockey date nights. She is the mom to two exuberant boys and addicted to Dancing With the Stars. The beaches, mountains and redwood forests of Northern California serve as inspiration for her books. Connect with her on facebook (facebook.com/elisefaberauthor), twitter (@faberelise) or http://www.elisefaber.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Elise Faber

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

