The Pull – Sara V. Zook

the pull

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.

blurb

Having two women wanting you at the same time … isn’t that every man’s fantasy? Wrong. It’s a nightmare, at least for Darin Thorne. The doctors had assured him his wife was going to die, sooner or later, so he’d moved on with someone else. Then he’d gotten the last call he’d expected to ever get—his wife was back from the dead. She’s coming home from the hospital and needs a place to stay. Darin is forced to invite her to come home with him. Two women living under the same roof, one his wife, the other his fiancé. Could this ever work? Darin feels a storm brewing in his life. He can’t possibly live like this much longer. The question still stands … which woman will he choose?

Blog Images

Darin Thorne’s wife, Livvy, has been in a coma for seven years. Her doctors have assured him that she won’t be waking. He has moved on with Violet. And they’re just waiting for the day that they can get married. One day, while Darin is on his way to work, and he gets a phone call from the hospital. Livvy was talking.

This book sounds like it’s one insane pickle to be in. How do you manage life when you lose the one you love? You mourn for them; you grieve their loss. And though their shell is there, the essence of who they are has long since slipped away. At first, you’re pulled to feel bad for Darin. You’re sympathetic to the upheaval his life has taken. You feel sympathetic to Violet, because now she’s in limbo. Does she have a fiancée or is he going to be with his wife, now that she’s awake. And you especially feel for Livvy. To wake up and suddenly realize that seven years of your life is gone. Everyone has moved on around you and your time has stopped. But all that sympathy dries up really fast. At least it did for me. Honestly, I didn’t like Darin. I thought he was a weak character. I understand that the author is trying to convey that it isn’t easy and it’s full of grey and cannot be black and white. But he genuinely wasn’t that sympathetic a character for me. And don’t get me started on Violet. After around 4% in, I couldn’t stand her. I liked Livvy, and I really liked Shane and Tim, the rest, meh. Just simply meh. A whole lot of the time, I spent saying to the kindle “Oh H#%L naw!” And the ending. I’m going to assume that there’s a second book coming. It felt incomplete to me.

Ms. Zook tackled a very unusual subject. I don’t know how I’d be if placed in that situation, honestly, so I wouldn’t say that the characters weren’t genuine in their responses, only that it was so far removed from my own that I find it hard to feel that it was believable. Would I recommend this book? I’m not sure. It would greatly depend on if there was a second and how that one turned out. So I’d leave this on the fence. As far as heat goes, it’s all fade to black, so it’s ok for any mature person.

about

Sara V. Zook pursued her dream of becoming a writer and after earning her bachelor’s degree, sat down to create her first novel in which Strange in Skin was completed in three short months.

She’s the author of the Strange in Skin Trilogy, Clipped, A Magic Within, Evanescent, Reminiscence and her new mobster release, Six Guns.

She resides in Pennsylvania, where she was born and raised, with her husband and three small children.

Find me at:
Website: http://www.saravzook.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SaraVZook
Blog: http://authorsaravzook.blogspot.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&query=sara+v+zook
Google+: https://plus.google.com/118015573067226027411/posts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/saravzook

Email: svzook@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Sara V. Zook

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

