The Law of Moses – Amy Harmon

The Law of Moses

blurb

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.
It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.
And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all . . . a love story.

Blog Images

***I own a copy of this book. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

Moses was found in a laundromat wrapped in a towel. The son of a crack addicted woman who was found soon after dead of an overdose. Moses wasn’t like most, he was fidgety and he was artistic and he had this presence about him that made people and animals feel awkward and gunshy around him.

Georgia was a girl who simply loved horses…and Moses.

Their story starts in the summer before their senior year in high school, though they weren’t unfamiliar to each other from before. But that summer and fall into their senior year, so much would change for both of them. Then fast forward 7 years. Moses is in a different place in life than when Georgia last saw him. He was doing so much better for himself. And though she really wasn’t in any different place, she was different and not all together for the better. But that pull that they had that summer was still there and still as strong. But there’s a lot of baggage in the in between…between the before…and the time of the after.

This is a truly beautiful story. There were many moments in the story where I had tears fall because it was so well written. At one point at 76% of the way through, Moses says something to Georgia at the corral and I lost it. Head in my hands sobbing. I had to put my kindle down, go to my room and literally have a 5 minute or so cry session. It isn’t like this book ripped my guts out. It just simply broke my heart in the most beautiful way imaginable.

Ms. Harmon isn’t a new author. She has several titles under her pen but she is new to me. All I can say is that this woman paints such vivid images with her words and she brings out all the feels. I will say that if I knew that it would make me cry like this, I probably wouldn’t have read the book. UNLESS some people whom I trust dearly told me it was worth the tears. In saying that, I’m awfully glad I read it. Even if it did make me cry like I just had my heart ripped apart in anguish. Even knowing how it made me cry, I’d do it all over again. So, would I recommend this book. Of course I would. It’s simply breath-taking.

about

Amy Harmon is a USA Today and New York Times Bestselling author. Amy knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, and she divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story. Her books are now being published in several countries, truly a dream come true for a little country girl from Levan, Utah.

Amy Harmon has written seven novels – the USA Today Bestsellers, Making Faces and Running Barefoot, as well as The Law of Moses, Infinity + One, Slow Dance in Purgatory, Prom Night in Purgatory, and the New York Times Bestseller, A Different Blue. Her newest release, The Song of David, will be released on June 15, 2015. For updates on upcoming book releases, author posts and more, join Amy at http://www.authoramyharmon.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Amy Harmon

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

