Wished He Was You (The Blogger Diaries Trilogy Book 2) – K.D. Robichaux

31a79-whwy_frontcover

blurb

Book 2 in the Blogger Diaries Trilogy. These books are NOT STANDALONE and must be read in order. Please read Wished for You before reading this story.

Kayla’s Chick Rant & Book Blog
Blog Post

Heartbroken and devastated, I moved back home to North Carolina after the man I loved more than anything told me he didn’t want me anymore.
After my disastrous dating history, I had finally found the one, my soul mate, and then he just threw me away like I meant nothing to him. So, what was I supposed to do now?
I did what any woman who had her heart ripped to shreds would do. I rebounded. And I rebounded hard.
My life spun and progressed at whirlwind speed as I tried desperately to fill the hole Jason had left inside me.
I had myself fooled for a while there, until the newness of everything wore off, until the whirlwind slowed to a grinding halt and I was forced to stop and realize exactly what I’d done. I suppose I could’ve trained myself to be content with Aiden, but all I did was…
Wish He Was You

This is book 2 in the Blogger Diaries Trilogy. It CANNOT be read as a standalone. Please read book 1, Wished for You, before beginning this continuation of the story.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

We’re back with Kayla. And no, you can’t just jump in and read this book. Doing that will greatly affect the way you’ll feel about this book and the characters. So, go back and read Wished For You (my review here), then come back here and read this. There are some kinda spoilers in this, but not something that can be helped, truly.

Kayla is estranged from the man she loves. She’s back home, nursing a broken heart when she meets Aiden. And this story is more about her relationship with Aiden and her longing for Jason than it is a romance between she and Jason. And while that doesn’t really follow the typical romance narrative, I completely understand why it’s done here.

Here’s my take on the whole thing, and it might get me flack, but I’m also looking at it from a 40-year-old woman’s perspective that’s not emotionally involved. I don’t think Kayla gave Aiden a fair shake from the beginning. I think she wasn’t honest with him but only barely more so with herself. And I think that it is possible he felt that on some deep level. THIS DOES NOT EXONERATE him from his wrong doings. And trust me when I say that there were some! I just think that much of the heartache and misery of this time could have been circumvented. BUT in the end she had an amazingly beautiful daughter and Kayla seems to have grown as a character during this time, so maybe that was a necessary evil.

That being said, when the heart has found its center, it’s impossible for it to not pull toward it. And though there was distance and time and sometimes forced isolation between Jason and Kayla, they forever found themselves bouncing back toward each other.

Ms. Robichaux’s narrative voice is still very different from the norm. And it still feels awkward to me at the beginning. But it’s supposed to. It’s supposed to feel like reading a blog and hearing from an old friend. That hasn’t changed from the first book to this one. Which is refreshing and it’s relevant to the point of the story. It is HER story. We’re just her friend and she’s finally getting around to emailing it to us. And while some people might take an exception to this writing style, I find that it suits the book perfectly. So the question is, would I recommend this book. In for a penny, in for a pound! I read the first, really liked it, recommended it. I read this, and though I’m not as keen on it (it’s nothing to do with the writing or the subject), I’m dying to get my mitts on the third. So, yes, I would say, with all things, there are growing pains to be experienced, and this is one of those. But do read it. I do recommend it. It will be so worth it in the end.

about

KD Robichaux wanted to be a romance author since the first time she picked up her mom’s Sandra Brown books at the ripe old age of twelve. She went to college to become a writer, but then married and had babies. Putting her dream job on hold to raise her family as a stay at home mom, who read entirely too much, she created a blog where she could keep her family and friends up-to-date on all the hottest reads. From there, by word of mouth, her blog took off and she began using her hard-earned degree as a Senior Editor for Hot Tree Editing. When her kids started school, and with the encouragement from her many author friends, she finally sat down and started working on her first series, The Blogger Diaries, her very own real life romance.

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, KD Robichaux

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

