Nine Steps to Sara – Lisa Olsen

ninestepstosara

blurb

When single mom Sara Darling inherits an estate in the remote English countryside, she jumps at the chance to become Lady of the Manor. With 8-year-old son Jack and best friend Joanie in tow, they explore the nearly deserted mansion, isolated from the rest of the world except for the nearby village where everybody seems to know her business. Distracted by the charming chauffeur, Will, soon Sara never wants to leave her newfound home.
But the eerie manor house is hiding more than a ruined garden and plumbing issues, and it’s up to Sara to find out what the loyal staff isn’t telling. When Sara finds Jack talking to an empty room, she begins to wonder if she made the right decision uprooting her tiny family as the spooky surroundings fuel her imagination.

Especially when she starts to hear the voice talk back.

Is her ancestor’s unnatural attachment to Jack borne of concern or something more sinister? When she discovers the truth, will Sara accept the legacy she’s inherited, or run for her life?

Blog Images
***I own a copy of this book. All thoughts are 100% my own.***
When we meet Sara, she, her best friend, and her son are headed to their new home in a remote English village Apparently, Sara’s son is the only remaining male heir to an English Baronet. Everything seems quaint and picturesque until some strange goings on happen. In all the craziness, Sara finds herself relying on Will, the local jack-of-all-trades. Will makes himself indispensable to her.
I’m going to stop there with the description. Honestly, I was woefully unimpressed with this book. It’s lauded as being a ghost story. And only in as much as there IS a ghost in it. Otherwise, it’s not a ghost story. It’s described as paranormal, again, only because there’s a ghost in it. And there’s a touch of romance, but not really. There’s a lot of potential in this book, it just didn’t rise to the occasion for me. And though it’s an alright read, There’s nothing bad to say about the story, only that it never fully dedicated itself to any particular thing and remained lukewarm. I never got invested in the characters, so the climax was rather anti-climatic.
I don’t normally do this, but I will put here, this particular book wasn’t bad enough for a 2 star rating, but it isn’t something that I’d recommend to my friends due to its lackluster feeling.
about
I am a writer, wife, and mother of two currently living in the Pacific Northwest. I am a complete TV addict (have to have it on at all times, even when I’m writing). I also enjoy online RPG’s, singing, reading, cooking… lots more I can’t think of at the moment.

The supernatural has long been my favorite to write and read. Werewolves, vampires, witchcraft, ghosts, things that go bump in the night; these are a few of my favorite things to write about. Not sparkly beings with phenomenal cosmic power that are always the smartest, bravest, prettiest Mary Sue to walk the planet, but real people who just happen to have this little quirk…

I’ve just published my 26th book, Kiss Me When the Sun Goes Down (#10 in my vampire series, Forged Bloodlines). I’m currently working on Scarlett Moon, the 2nd in the Wolves of Cutter’s Folly books.

For more information on my current writing exploits, please visit my website at http://www.lisaolsen.net.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lisa Olsen

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

