Inescapable (Premonision Series Book 1) – Amy Bartol

inescapable

blurb

My name is Evie Claremont and this was to be the making of me–my freshman year of college. I’d been hoping that once I’d arrived on Crestwood’s campus, the nightmare that I’ve been having would go away. It hasn’t.

I may be an inexperienced seventeen-year-old, but I’m grounded…sane. I look for rational explanations to even the strangest circumstances. Since meeting sophomore Reed Wellington, however, nothing makes any sense. Whenever he’s near, I feel an attraction to him–a magnetic kind of force pulling me towards him. I know what you’re thinking…that sounds fairly awesome. Yeah, it would be…if he liked me, but Reed acts as if I’m the worst thing that has ever happened to Crestwood…or him. But get this, for some reason every time I turn around he’s there, barging into my life.

What is the secret that he’s keeping from me? I’m hoping that it’s anything but what I suspect: that he’s not exactly normal…and neither am I. So, maybe Crestwood won’t be the making of me, but it could be the breaking of me. I’ve been left to wonder if the dark future my dream is foretelling is…inescapable.

Blog Images

We meet Evie as she’s starting her first day of college. She meets up with her friend Alfred, the only person she had talked to before school started. She meets Russell that evening at the BBQ and she meets the upper classmen, Reed. Reed hates her. She can’t figure out why.

Here’s the thing. I really don’t want to give things away. But I kind of have to. Evie’s soul mate is Russell. She cares about him, but even that being the case, she’s drawn to and feels strongly for Reed. And this back and forth continues for the entire book. (I just want to add the caveat that these characters are Angels and they remind me, physically anyway, of characters from another book series written by another author.) I’m not sure exactly how I feel about this series. I enjoyed it. But I HATE love triangles. It shows an inconsistency in the main character and that sort of waffling bothers me. Especially when it remains unresolved throughout the book. All this being said, the world building was phenomenal, and other than Russell’s accent feeling fake and more Texan than North Carolina and the consistent use of the accent was annoying, I thought this story was really good and am  looking forward to the second book in this series.

Ms. Bartol has this amazing ability to build a world that sucks you right in. I’m curious to read the next book in this series and see what it takes us. I hope a few things get cleared up in that next book. But that’s with all series. So the question is, would I recommend this book. I would, it’s interesting and a cool concept. Good for all YA readers.

about

I live in Michigan with my husband and our two sons. My family is very supportive of my writing. When I’m writing, they often bring me the take-out menu so that I can call and order them dinner. They listen patiently when I talk about my characters like they’re real. They rarely roll their eyes when I tell them I’ll only be a second while I finish writing a chapter…and then they take off their coats. They ask me how the story is going when I surface after living for hours in a world of my own making. They have learned to accept my “writing uniform” consisting of a slightly unflattering pink fleece jacket, t-shirt, and black yoga pants. And they smile at my nerdy bookishness whenever I try to explain urban fantasy to them. In short, they get me, so they are perfect and I am blessed. Please visit me at my website: http://www.amyabartol.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Amy Bartol

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

