Davenport Harbor (Six Degrees Series Book 3) – Mayra Statham

Anne Carter
As a little girl I dreamt of Prince Charming, I found out there was no such thing. On a rainy night, my nightmare of a Prince found me, but not my secret and I was able to run.
But what I ran into that night might be worse.
He’s far from being a fairy tale prince. Older, grouchy and sullen.
One look in his eyes and I know he wants us as far from him as possible. Yet he keeps us safe, giving us more than harbor, he gives us hope.
He might not be a Prince but he’s definitely the beastly King of his domain.
John Davenport
I’m a man who has avoided emotional entanglements longer than I care to remember. I should send them packing, but I can’t.
I’m not a good man. I’m ruthless. Uncaring. Calculating. 
I’m a man with mile long list of faults and redemption is not within my reach, not in this lifetime. No where close to the man that deserves the beauty that they can bring into a man’s life.
I just can’t seem to let them go.
A rain storm might have brought them to me but I’m like a vine around them, needing a little bit of their light to thrive.
Can two frightened souls heal and find courage to love again and become a family? Or are the ghosts of the past stronger than they can manage? 
Will the growly king and beautiful damsel in distress get their own modern day happy ending? 
Little girl’s might dream of Prince Charming
but a woman deserves a KING that stands behind his QUEEN.
 

Amazon link:
US: http://amzn.to/1Y5FGv3

 

MY THOUGHTS

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

We met John Davenport before. He’s Mike Crown’s best friend. Mike from Crown’s Chance at Love. He and Sabrina play a really active role in this story where as Parker and Liz, from Etched in Stone, get a bare mention. That’s ok though because this IS the Six Degrees Series. John isn’t a very nice man. He doesn’t do soft and gentle. He’d rather pay his partners than develop a rapport with them. So when he was on his way home in the rain one night, he wasn’t the kindest of men to Anne. She was broken down on his road and he helped her get her flat fixed so that he could get home. Only on his way back down his road, she was still there, but this time, she was unconscious and she had a baby in the car. And this is the beginning of the rebuilding of both John and Anne.

These two characters are amazing. When we meet Anne she’s literally black and blue and scared of her own shadow. John could do little more than snarl and snap at people. They transformations that they wrought in each other through the course of the book is amazing. John comes to crave proximity and Anne grows a backbone and takes back herself.

The side characters are also amazing. Mike and Sabrina and their three children, Nick, who was Sabrina’s friend from her story. Belle, who we’ve seen periodically throughout the series, makes a showing here as well. We also get to know Patrick, Mike’s brother, better. I’ll be honest, I’m really interested in his story. We’re also introduced to a new character, Birdie. I love her. I also wonder Anne’s reaction to meeting her favorite author.

I also wanted to mention the epilogue. Normally I don’t point out a particular part of a book and go GAH! And I won’t spoil it for any of you who’ve not read it, but I will tell you that it was an AMAZING chapter. GAH! I don’t know if I could have imagined a better end to this book. I mean this is what all us readers DIE to know when we read a book that ends with the first “I love you”.  JUST GAH! Good fat happy tears I tell you! And I thought Parker was the IT boy for this series….well, John MIGHT edge him out….I dunno…but maybe!

Ms. Davenport’s writing is improving with each book. Though we really didn’t move around in locations in this story as much as others, but the environments and reactions from the characters felt so real-to-life. THIS is a book hangover book for me. So the question begs to be asked….Would I recommend this book? Well, if you REALLY need me to answer it, the answer is. OH GOSH YES! You should have one clicked it a week ago!

 
 
Mayra Statham resides in California. She is married with kids. Her addiction to romance novels and being an avid reader in the genre has made her dream come true. She enjoys going to book signings with her sister. She also loves helping others indies by promoting their work. Some of her favorite authors are Kristen Ashley, Roxie Rivera & Jordan Marie . She loves being contacted by readers.
 
 
 

 

 
Mayra Statham

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Mayra Statham

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

