Blessed (The Watchers Trilogy Book 2) – S.J. West

blessed sj west

blurb

In the sequel to Cursed, Lilly Rayne Nightengale discovers why Lucifer has been protecting her from malevolent forces bent on destroying her. She also comes face to face with the person who orchestrated the various near death experiences throughout her life and comes closer to learning the truth about why her death is so important to them.

This is a young adult novel which contains some violence and mild sexual situations.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

We continue with out story of Lilly and Brand. Their love is stronger than ever, regardless of how much Malcolm and Will wish it were otherwise. But the threat to end Lilly’s life isn’t over. And they need to find out before time runs out on them.

We’re back with the entire group of characters with a couple more added to the mix. Lilly gains a fairy godfather, and she gets to meet a couple more werewolves and another watcher who’s afraid of everything but his own shadow. And in this, there are answers to questions in the first book but more questions added to be figured out. I will say there were a couple of plot twists I didn’t expect and were pleasantly surprised about. There were a couple of things that bugged me. While I understand that Lilly makes everyone feel calm, but goodnight, their need to impress upon her their “love” or how much better for her than Brand is annoys me. If Brand were such a loathsome character, I wish someone would just come out and say so. But I understand, it’s the addictive thing that Malcolm mentioned in reference to how she made them all feel. But why when asked, do they just simply say “That’s not it, it’s you.” It did give me some serious eye-rolls. I loved LOVED Utha Mae! And I also really liked Rebecca. I have to admit that Malcolm is my favorite character of this book. I’m glad to see that he gets his own story line in the future.

Ms. West continues to build this millenia long conspiracy that is building players rather than taking away. We’re starting to get to the main players and I’m really curious to see how this all pans out. I know that she has other series set in this same universe, and I’ll be honest and say that I’m curious about all of how it all comes to pass. So would I recommend this book. I would. There’s definitely some forward movement instead of that stall you get in the second book.

about

Once upon a time, a little girl was born on a cold winter morning in the heart of Seoul, Korea. She was brought to America by her parents and raised in the Deep South where the words ma’am and y’all became an integrated part of her lexicon. She wrote her first novel at the age of eight and continued writing on and off during her teenage years. In college she studied biology and chemistry and finally combined the two by earning a master’s degree in biochemistry. After that she moved to Yankee land where she lived for four years working in a laboratory at Cornell University. Homesickness and snow aversion forced her back South where she lives in the land which spawned Jim Henson, Elvis Presley, Oprah Winfrey, John Grisham and B.B. King. After finding her Prince Charming, she gave birth to a wondrous baby girl and they all lived happily ever after.

1 Comment

Filed under S.J. West

One response to “Blessed (The Watchers Trilogy Book 2) – S.J. West

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying the books, and I PROMISE the LIlly thing makes sense in Forgiven, you’ll find more answers, just you wait! 😀

    Like

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

