Vandal (Ashes & Embers Series Book 2) – Carian Cole

005fc-vandal2bcover

blurb

She takes my breath away; she is so beautifully damaged.
Yes, I had broken her, ravished her life and destroyed her happiness.

I brought her to the ultimate despair. I was responsible for all the pain and suffering that now brought her to her knees in front of me.

Broken.
Hopeless.
Reckless in her agony.

She is a mirror of my own tortured soul. But what I took away I can give back, in ways she cannot even begin to imagine.
She is everything right in all my wrongs.
She loves me. She needs me.
She has no idea I’m the one who wrecked her life.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

Vandal. I haven’t read the Ashes & Embers stories in order. I read Lukas first. And really, though we get hints at the other stories in the series, none of them give away what’s going on in the other stories. SO they can be read alone. BUT honestly, you won’t want to do it that way. But…in reading Lukas and then Storm, I knew Vandal would be a hard read for me. I hate getting the feels. I hate crying. And I won’t lie, I cried at the early parts of the book. It’s eviscerating. But Vandal is broken. He was broken long ago by way too many people. And how he ends up meeting Tabitha is broken. But that’s ok, because she’s broken too. And together they embark on an unconventional but perfect journey for them.

We catch glimpses of Vandal in the other books. But they don’t even hint at the complexity of the character. I wasn’t sure I’d like him much from Lukas and Storm, but honestly, I like him a lot. He is like Sterling in the book, you just want to love on him because it’s obvious that he’s not been loved enough. There is one plot twist I didn’t see happening and I’ll admit that it completely dropped my jaw when it happened. So, kudos, Ms. Cole! I won’t even hint at it here. I’ll just say there is one there. And I’m dying to know what’s up with Asher. With each book we’re peeling back more and more of him, so now I have to question about his own story. So I can’t wait to read that. Talon is getting his story soon, so I can’t wait to see what happens there with him and his social science project.

Ms. Cole tore me up with this book, like I imagined that she would. My heart bled for Vandal. My heart bled for Tabitha. I know this is book 2 of the series, and as of this moment, I’ve read all three. I can’t wait to read the last 2. Which is Talon’s and Asher’s stories.  So, would I recommend this book? I would. Just know that it made me cry in the beginning and shocked me toward the end. This is most definitely NOT a book for those who like life and nookie gentle, because there is none of that here.

about

I have a passion for the bad boys, those covered in tattoos, sexy smirks, ripped jeans, fast cars, motorcycles and of course, the sweet girls that try to tame them and win their hearts. My debut series, Ashes & Embers, follows the lives of rock band members as they find, and sometimes lose, the loves of their lives.

My first novel in the Ashes & Embers series, Storm, published in September of 2014 and book 2, Vandal, published in February 2015. Lukas is planned as book 3 coming in July 2015. I have nine books slated for this series, and several standalone novels planned for 2015 and 2016.

Born and raised a Jersey girl, I now reside in beautiful New Hampshire with my husband and our multitude of furry pets and spend most of my time writing, reading, and vacuuming.

I love to hear from readers, feel free to contact me on Facebook or check out my web site at http://www.cariancole.com.

Sign up for my newsletter: http://bit.ly/cariancolenews
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cariancoleauthor
Web site: http://www.cariancole.com
Email: carrie@cariancole.com

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Carian cole

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

