Cinderella (Not Quite the Fairy Tale Book 1) – May Sage

cinderella may sage

blurb

The King needs an heir and that means finding some sort of woman to do the job;
“That’s all it’s about, ultimately: basic, carnal compatibility in order to satisfy this need. For that reason, the pictures I request of those who wish to apply are explicit. The full prerequisites are attached to the correspondence. If you aren’t comfortable with these demands, don’t bother applying.”

Ella applies, seeing straight through the bullshit; she goes as far as derisively add a set of pictures fitting the requirements the letter demands:
A picture of her “pussy” – a fat, indolent Persian – and of her in her nightwear – yoga pants and a hoodie.
In lieu of an introduction, her message reads:

« Dear Daniel Franko Phillipe Del Luz,
I’ve applied to guarantee that I’m not summoned to your little orgy.
Fuck you. We aren’t all stupid.
Ella. »

It was supposed to go through an automated system;
she didn’t expect anyone to read it…
Let alone the King

This novel is intended for a mature audience – expect strong language and sexual situations. However, this is not a non stop erotica.

Cinderella is the first of the Not quite the fairy tale; they are meant to be read in order as the characters interact, but each book is a standalone.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

I’ll be honest, I saw this book in an email and I fell in love with the blurb. It’s full of snark and sass and alpha-ness. So, let me say that this book has NOT disappointed. There’s definitely snark and sass and oh lawd a’mercy, there is most definitely alpha-ness! If I were a gif posting blog, I’d have one with a lady fanning herself…just sayin’. Mmmkay!!! This is a retelling of the Cinderella fairy tale. Cinderella is from wealth, but loses her dad, and her step-mother and step-sisters treat her worse than the hired help. And there is a prince and he does need a bride and there is a meeting of the two and a ball and a glass slipper. That’s really about as far as it goes. This takes the story a little further and we find some back story between these two. It’s set in modern times, but in a paranormal universe. Magic has a price, but sometimes ordinary people have a little bit of magic to them. I liked Ella. I liked Dane too. Shoot, I liked many of the characters and I will say that my biggest gripe with the book is that it felt too short. She could have drawn this book out by at least a second book before reaching the conclusion. I felt that I needed more background on the characters. Especially after we read what Sandro had to say toward the end. I think drawing out their conflict with one another would have helped too. But that’s just me. This does have the feel of a long novella instead of a novel, making this a quick read.

In talking with Ms. Sage there is another book in this series coming out soon. And honestly, I’m looking forward to that! And amazingly enough it is about a character I’m not very keen on. So we’ll see how that works out. 🙂

Ms. Sage introduces us to her world of fey and man by just dropping us down in it and immersing us in the culture. Which might not make some people happy, but I love trying to figure things out. But honestly, she doesn’t leave much for us to find out, we discover it organically. This is a good story, and I’m glad I’ve been given a chance to read it. The only thing I’d disagree with is MAYBE the erotica label. It’s pretty much on the fence of erotica and super steamy. It isn’t all out sex, so don’t get this book if that’s what you’re expecting. It IS graphic and a couple of things mentioned are generally not mentioned in most romance books. So maybe that’s why it’s given that designation. Either way, if you don’t get on with coarse language and explosive sex or you’re not of age, this isn’t the book for you. However, if you like your fairy tales naughty and filled with love, then get this one. It is worth it…even if it is too short in my estimation.

about

Once Upon A Time, there was a little girl who just loved telling her own stories. Fast-forward about two decades? Not a lot of change, there.

My mother’s collection of novels extends to three rooms, the stepfather who raised me writes awesome short stories: really, I didn’t have a choice, I caught a bug.

I dabble in anything, Fantasy, Contemporary, Dystopian… Really, the subject doesn’t matter.
The gist of it is: I will make you laugh, and I will make you want more 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, May Sage

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

