Russell (NPCs Character Interview) – ***#Drew-vember AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT***

welcome to drewvember

Welcome to #Drew-vember here on Textual Love. This month’s Author Spotlight falls on Drew Hayes. We’re going to be having an interview with the Author himself as well as Character Interviews from some of your favorite books as well as reviews of all of his books plus a giveaway or two throughout the month.

interview

The guy sitting on the couch is the average joe. He’s fairly young, early twenties, in t-shirt, jeans, and sneakers. But I can tell by looking in his eyes that he’s intelligent and observant of his environment. And he doesn’t seem too comfortable being interviewed. He’s here, though, so that’s saying a lot about him as an individual. I take the seat opposite of him and smile, trying to reassure him. He smiles back and seems to relax.

 

What’s your history with tabletop RPGs? Are you like Will Wheaton or more of a casual player? Of the time you’ve been playing, how long have you been GM’ing?

Since I’m not an actor or famous, I don’t think I have much in common with Will Wheaton. I started playing tabletop RPGs when I was really young, since my sister was running games with her friends and our mom made her let me play too. For a long time I was just simple classes like knights or barbarians, since those were all I could understand, but eventually I started figuring it out. My own group formed when I met other people who were interested, and I’ve been GMing pretty much ever since. Using modules makes it a lot easier, too.
In NPCs Tim’s dice disintegrated, what do you think happened? What do you think of the group that you were battling at that moment?

That the group seemed sort of under-powered for a final-encounter. I’m pretty sure the players would have won, if everyone weren’t throwing nothing but critical failures. As for Tim’s die (that’s the proper word for a singular dice) none of us knew what to think. If I remember right, the best explanation we landed on was poorly made plastic having a chemical reaction.
It’s obvious that you’re feeling like the modules are changing on you. Have you thought to let your sister GM a game or two and see if she picks up on that as well? Do you think she’d go for it? Are you willing to sit back and just be a player now that you’ve worn the GM’s hat?

As much as I would love to leave the task to Cherie, that would be tantamount to giving up on it. She’s… not always scrupulous about following modules. Usually they’re just a jumping off point for her, and then she does her own thing. It makes for interesting games, don’t get me wrong, but it would be impossible to tell where Cherie was going off-book versus where the book was going… off-book. Maybe I need a better term for that.
Just curious, have you found out the name of the next module? My husband loves to tabletop RPG as well and this sounds like his kind of game.

Nothing so far. Broken Bridge has very little web-presence, and the ones we’ve played were too limited to get much hype going. The most I’ve seen was an announcement that they have another coming out next year, but it’s anyone’s guess what it will be about. They jumped kingdoms from module one to module two, which is unusual, and means I’ve got no idea what to expect.
Do you like only fantasy RPGs or do you like Sci Fi ones as well? The publishing house I work for just released a small RPG set in a science fiction universe. If it sounds like something you might be interested in, I could set you up with a “teaser” copy, or even a full copy if you’d like. Just a gift from me to you. Would this be something you would be interested in?

While I’m a fan of all RPGs, no tabletop game can be played alone. And, much as I love my new group, they’re still learning how to navigate the Spells, Swords, & Stealth world. Jumping systems might be a little too hard for them, especially mid-campaign. If you know of any groups that need a player though, that might be a different story. Be a nice change to sit on the other side of the table one of these days.

Thank you so much, Russell, for coming and chatting games with me. I’ll be sure to get you the link to the free teaser to the game. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Spotlight, Drew Hayes, Interview

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

