A Tale of Three Cities (Greater Expectations Series Book 2)- Alexander McCabe

tale of three cities alex mccabe

blurb

“You can run but you cannot hide” – something that Kristy Bradley knows only too well.

Having escaped the seedy core that is the big apple, and leaving a mafia don convicted of her alleged kidnapping, Kirsty created a new life for herself as Penny. Having finally found happiness with Z, they are living the perfect life together, blissfully happy on her sprawling Scottish estate.

That is, until, Melissa Chisholm has a chance encounter with a dated magazine article revealing her true identity. With intentions as pure as her naivety – not to mention the million-dollar reward – she has no idea of the perilous danger that awaits her arrival in New York.

Now the race is on for Penny and Z to protect all that they hold dear…..each other.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

We met Z (pronounced Zed not Zee) in Greater Expectations. In that book he was dealing with his imminent divorce and trying to piece together what exactly made Z…Z. In the process he takes a getaway to an estate in Scotland, where he meets Penny. She becomes one of his dearest friends and the end, hints that they could have something more.

This is book two. We pick up a short time after book one ends. Z and Penny are together and things are going really well. She met his parents. They said the “I love yous”. That is until something nasty in her past comes up and says hi in a most dramatic fashion.

I will say that I liked Z more in this story than I did in the last one. He’s more confident and sure of himself. I liked Andy and I always liked Penny. Melissa I found lacking, but then, I guess I’m supposed to. I will say she redeemed herself and I she gives better than she got. Michael was deranged and he should have met Di Silva’s end.

Mr. McCabe’s story is a little confusing. He writes this story in a combination third person omniscient POV and first person. Z’s side of things is always first person, everyone else is third and sometimes it gets switched up in mid scene. Other than the occasional blip where I had to re-access where I was, it wasn’t too bad. Like  I mentioned in my prior review, his writing style is a little dry, but it was still an entertaining read. I enjoyed this story better than the first. It was like that book was setting this one up.

about

After graduating with a couple of useless degrees in law, Alexander McCabe left his Scottish homeland and wandered nomadically around the globe to experience the rich diversity of culture that the world has to offer. Along the way, he met his wonderful wife. Between them, they have managed to extend their family with the addition of their little boy, Gabriel.

For the moment, they call Toronto ‘home’, although that is always subject to change…

For more information about the author and all upcoming events and new releases, please visit http://www.aasmccabe.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Alexander McCabe, Fiction

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

