Bound by Duty (Bound Series Book 1) – Stormy Smith

bound by duty stormy smith

blurb

Amelia grew up in a world of half-truths. She knows she’s an Elder, but has no idea what that means. Her father reminds her daily that she must maintain control, but he refuses to explain why. Even worse, she’s betrothed to the prince of the Immortals and doesn’t even know his name.

Finally breaking free to live a few normal years at a community college, the last thing Amelia expects is to find her best friend in a cheeky southern girl, or fall for a self-assured human who sees her for who she is, not what she will become.

As she learns more about herself, Amelia realizes the line between love and duty is a thin one. As her power continues to increase exponentially and her questions are slowly answered, Amelia must make the ultimate choice. The question is, will her head win the battle, or her heart?

Blog Images

We meet Amelia at Brighton College. She’s an awkward girl who’s not familiar with social graces. Her best friend is a Southern Peach and loves getting her out and involved and Bethany has a hankering for Micah. Off they go to a party and there, when Amelia tries to get away from everyone there, she meets Aiden. Amelia isn’t your normal awkward girl though. She has this magic inside of her and she’s supposedly someone important and engaged to the prince of this immortal race. Only, she never met this prince, she hadn’t heard anything good about his mother the queen, and she just wants to be normal and do things normal girls do. But meeting Aiden…now he gets her heart and her magic singing. Only there’s a big problem. He isn’t the prince…and her time is running out and her magic is beginning to run amok.

I really liked Bethany and Cole and Amelia, even though she can be bratty sometimes. I understand why, I would be too, plus she’s 18. There’s still time for her to grow up. And we get to know Aiden’s story. So, knowing his story, it makes these words more powerful than they’d be otherwise.

“Pick me, Amelia. Please, pick me. Be the one who finally picks me.”

Honestly, my heart pitter-pattered and as if he weren’t insta-book-boyfriend material before, THAT sealed it right there. I really liked his character and I am BEYOND excited to read the remaining parts of this series.

Ms. Smith writes a compelling tale. It’s interesting how she gradually releases bits of it as the story unfolds. We’re learning and confused and angered and afraid right along with Amelia. I have never read anything by this author before, and I am CLEARLY not understanding why I hadn’t started reading this earlier, but BOY am I glad I did! AND DOUBLE BOY am I glad I waited until I had the whole series, because ummm…I’m not sure I’d be able to handle waiting for more. So would I recommend this book? Oh yes, I would. I am suggesting that you buy the entire SERIES before you start reading it because you’ll want to read it all in one sitting. IT. ALL. Just trust me on this…

about

Stormy Smith calls Iowa’s capital home now, but was raised in a tiny town in the Southeast corner of the state. She grew to love books honestly, having a mom that read voraciously and instilled that same love in her. She knew quickly that stories of fantasy were her favorite, and even as an adult gravitates toward paranormal stories in any form.

Writing a book had never been an aspiration, but suddenly the story was there and couldn’t be stopped. When she isn’t working on, or thinking about, her books, Stormy’s favorite places include bar patios, live music shows, her yoga mat or anywhere she can relax with her husband or girlfriends.

If you want to stay tuned in to all of the new release news, sign up for Stormy’s spam-free newsletter. It only comes out when something exciting is happening…promise! http://eepurl.com/WLlq1

Get more information on her website – http://www.stormysmith.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal Romance, Stormy Smith

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

