Fighting Solitude – Aly Martinez

fighting solitude cover

blurb

*This is a series of interconnected standalones. Book one, Fighting Silence, is currently 99c.*

I was born a fighter. Abandoned by my parents, I spent my life forging my own path—one guided by my fists and paved with pain.

Untouchable in the ring, I destroyed everyone who faced me, but that’s where my victories ended. Outside the ropes, I repeatedly failed the few people who loved me. Including my best friend, Liv James—the one person I’d die to protect.

Even though I didn’t deserve her, Liv never stopped believing in me. Never gave up. Never let go. After all, she understood what I’d lost, because she’d lost it too.

Liv was everything to me, but she was never truly mine.

That was going to change.

I lost my first love, but I refused to lose my soulmate.

Now, I’m on the ropes during the toughest battles of my life.
Fighting to be the man she deserves.
Fighting the solitude of our pasts.
Fighting for her.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

We meet meet Liv and Quarry as children. Neither have the best of backgrounds and both are tough as nails. And they form a quick bond because they each recognized a similar soul. Soon they were inseparable. This is true for the whole lives, until one day it just wasn’t. It was more.

This is the third book in the On The Ropes Series. This series follows the Page brothers and Quarry being the youngest of the three. I liked Quarry. I liked how intense he was. I really liked Liv too. This is a story told throughout the interactions of their life. So this book really spans a couple of decades. The Page family really crack me up, especially the wives. And since this is the first book that I’ve read, I’ve got to go back and read the other two. And really you don’t need to read the others to enjoy this one. There’s things that you see in this that will most likely give some stuff away in the others, but nothing overly much.

Ms. Martinez has a way of spinning a tale in such a way that makes you feel as though you’re present. The situation with Mia had my heart gripped. The snarky banter between best friends had me in stitches. The main characters struggles and solutions felt real to me. I really did enjoy this book. So much so I bought the two prior books in order to read them as well. So, would I recommend this book? I would. If I had done it up right, I would have started with the first in the series, Fighting Silence then moved to Fighting Shadows. But I’m still recommending this with or without having read either of the others.

about

I’m a wife and stay at home mom to four wild kids under the age of six. My life is pretty much crazy at all times.
I’m a proud wino. Reader. Author. Ice cream hater. Olive lover. Southern girl. Did I mention wino already?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Aly Martinez, Romance

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

