Stronger – Misty Provencher

stronger misty provencher

blurb

WARNING!! Not Suitable for Young Adult Readers!

Two men are vying for a place in Lydia Strong’s life. Desmond has solid ties from her distant past, while Aiden is only concerned about being her future. But right now, party-girl Lydia has lost herself in a shot glass and dozens of one night stands. Barely functioning as an alcoholic and sexual addict, she’s forgotten her own worth and is plummeting toward the rock bottom of her life.
While Des and Aiden compete to create her future, Lydia realizes she’s got to be stronger than she’s ever been, to fight her addictions and choose the life that she wants now. She must find herself again, before the wrong man walks away.

Blog Images

Warning, this book might contain triggers for certain readers.

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.***

We meet Lydia as she’s bringing a man home from the bar. Mr. Fizzy Punch. She has dating rules. Only three dates, no matter how awesome they are. Especially if they’re awesome, actually. She is a party girl. She would rather party than anything else. But she really doesn’t like her partying ways. Not really. There’s some deep, dark stuff going on in her life. Then Aiden moves in next door. He’s light. He’s good. He’s her neighbour and that would ruin the three date rule. But she wants to ruin it. She wants to touch his light. Then there’s Des. He’s so tied into her life, she doesn’t think there will be any way that he’ll not be in it.

This is as far as I’ll go with it. The furthest. I’ll be honest, about halfway through it, I was wondering why I was reading it. It really isn’t a joyful book. It’s not filled with unicorn farts and glitter. This book is dark and gritty and filled with deep human emotions. There were moments of pure remorse and despair that I was moved to tears. There were moments so relieving that I was also drawn to tears. This book is a hard read. If you have issues with rape and addiction triggers, you might find it best to avoid this book. Though I will tell you that it was well handled. I really wished I could talk to someone about this, this book MOVED me. It SHIFTED me and made me realize how NAIVE I am. Made me realize how BLESSED I am. And though it dredged me through the muck that people fight through, there was hope still there. There is a good ending.

Ms. Provencher has this ability to paint films with her words. She uses words that would normally not make any sense, but it offers such a visual that it is literally like a movie playing through your mind. It’s not just that they stumbled out onto the street, they “poured” out onto the street. (drunk people leaving a bar) Her grasp of sensory language and transforming it into such a piece that you FEEL their emotions. This book is about addictions and though I suspected, I didn’t really know until it was brought to our attention. We’re so involved in the character’s head that WE are Lydia. We BREATHE what she breathes, we have to PATCH our bodies and our hearts, like she has to. And this is ALL down to the brilliance that is Ms. Provencher. I will say that I bow to her. She’s amazing that is all. So would I recommend this book? If the prior warnings don’t pertain to you, YES.  IF they do, then please sit this one out. It really would be for the best.

about

Misty Provencher is a fairly prolific author who offers a shelf full of intriguing plots, relatable characters, and exciting story twists to surprise and delight her audience. Readers ranging from teen to adult will find something to enjoy on her list. Provencher’s genres include titles in contemporary romance, fantasy, literary fiction, Sci-fi, and even erotica.

While Provencher can ride a motorcycle, knows how to Karate chop, and has learned enough French, Spanish, and Sign Language to get herself slapped, Misty’s life is dedicated to connecting with, and understanding, the people who cross her path. She is totally enchanted with the world and spends her days trying to translate her everyday muses into words.

Misty Provencher lives in the Mitten. Knock on her internet blog door at mistyprovencherauthor.com and wherever great coffee is sold.

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Misty Provencher, Romance

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

