ICE – Kathy Coopmans & Hilary Storm

ice cover

blurb

Warning- This book contains explicit language and graphic sexual content.

 

Captain Jade Elliott of the United States Army spent her entire career working her ass off to get to this point and she couldn’t be more proud. She’s gained notoriety through her actions as well as the respect of her team. She’s one of the first women to graduate as a Ranger and has been called to serve on a secret mission. So why is she about to do something that could throw that all away?

Kaleb Maverick has been called to act as Commander for a vital mission and has done his research. He knows his team very well, in fact he hand selected them. He’s retired, but still very active in the private sector, leading his personal team to countless successful missions. Now he’s going back for one last mission.

Blog Images

***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

We meet Jade in a very compromising position. One that could even cost her everything she’s worked so hard for. Being a woman in the military is tough. Being one of the first to go through special ops training, is even harder. Jade is a tough woman. She’s able to hang with the best of them. Most of the time, being female doesn’t factor in. That’s until she meets the new commander of this mission. Kaleb Maverick hand picked her for the time. He also caught her in this most compromising position.

I want to caveat the next thing I say with this: I know this is fiction. I know that there is a large amount of creative license involved. THIS in no way, shape, or form detracts from how I felt about this story.  I was disappointed at the abuse of power angle that was used. It didn’t make the story a bad story, I just wished it didn’t occur.

I will say that I liked Jade, though I found her emotionally stiff. Given what we know about her and how she’s had to conduct herself in the Army, this would make sense when she’s around other soldiers. Kaleb is what an alpha male should be deep down. Though he comes across as large and in charge, and a lot of times he truly is, he still allows her to make her decisions and choices and doesn’t insult her by treating her like an invalid or child. I love her roommate, Mallory, and her mission partner, Harris. We really don’t get much of a chance to get to know the others yet.

The suspense in these scenes was horrible. It had me biting my nails and sitting on the edge of the couch. I swear when he started speaking Italian, I thought I was going to die! And I googled that ish and I cannot figure out what the fig he was saying! GAH! I understand SOME of it, but not enough to know. I’m dyin’ ovah heah, y’all! You know, if I hadn’t read Contrite by Kathy Coopmans, I probably would have thrown my kindle in utter frustration, because for REALS! You’re going to LEAVE ME DANGLIN’!!! But, I won’t have long to wait, a month and the next book in the series will be in my hand.

I do want to say this before I discuss the authors. Like I started off saying, I know this is a work of fiction, and that creative license is used. I also come from a military family. I know there are things that they’ve went through that they won’t tell us because it’s too traumatic and others because they’re required by the government to keep silent. I also know that nightmares comes with the territory. So, I’m glad that that part wasn’t glossed over. I also want to give my heart to those who serve because of all of you, my sleep is peaceful, my future free to do with as I please.

Ms. Coopmans and Ms. Storm make one heckuva writing duo. You can tell their voices apart enough that they’ve given each Jade and Kaleb very distinct voices. But the surrounding story flowed smoothly. I’ve never read anything by Ms. Storm, but I KNOW Ms. Coopmans is very adept at leaving you at the precipice without letting you teeter off, and that’s exactly where we are right now. So that being said…would I recommend this book? YES. Oh gosh yes! If you don’t like a MAJOR cliffhanger, buy it, and wait until the rest of the story is complete before reading it.

about

hilary storm

Hilary Storm lives with her high school sweetheart and three children in Oklahoma. She drives her husband crazy talking about book characters everyday like they are real people. She graduated from Southwestern Oklahoma State University with an MBA in Accounting. Her passions include being a mom, writing, reading, photography, music, mocha coffee, and spending time with friends and family. She is the international best-selling author of the Rebel Walking Series, Bryant Brothers Series, Inked Brothers Series, and Six.

kathy coopman

Amazon Best Selling Author Kathy Coopmans, lives in Michigan with her husband Tony where they have two grown sons.

After raising her children she decided to publish her first book and retiring from being a hairstylist.

She now writes full time.

She’s a huge sports fan with her favorite being Football and Tennis.

She’s a giver and will do anything she can to help another person succeed!

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Hilary Storm, Kathy Coopmans, Romance

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

