Embracing Emma – Leigh Ann Lunsford

embracing emma

 

blurb

William Jacobs was chosen—adopted at a young age and thrust into a lifestyle he knew nothing about. Emma Nichols was the girl next door . . . his atlas in the turbulent life he had to navigate.

In their small town, beliefs vary and hatred can take the forefront.

She sees things as they are: right and wrong—black or white. He looks at all abstracts of life trying to find the easiest path.

Their lives are connected in every facet. Family, school, love . . . they don’t know where one begins and the other ends, and it’s just the way they like it. Tragedy, hatred, loss, and distance threaten them, but those things won’t tear them apart.

One night, something unforgivable happens. They find themselves on the same side fighting opposite battles. She can’t erase the pain, and he can’t right his wrongs, but he’ll die trying to avenge the act of violence and make her see the truth.

 

Blog Images

We met Emma briefly in Brise. This is her story. She’s the daughter of Luke and Phoebe from Brise, and she has a best friend named Will. Will is the son of James and Brett, Phoebe’s best friends from NYC. They moved in across the street and adopted Will. You couldn’t separate those two kids, and much like Luke and Phoebe, they were each other’s everything. Until something happens and they had to learn to stand on their own two feet.

I will say that I didn’t get my guts ripped from me the way that Brise did. It had its moments, especially dealing with Nana. I can honestly say, I’ve never been in that position, so I don’t know how I’d feel. Maybe that was the disconnect that I felt with Emma. Maybe, it is because I know I’m like her, except I don’t run from things. BUT I do put up walls and when my mind is set on a truth that I believe, it is set. And me being 40, I’m tempered with time and lessons learned and this is a story of a very young woman, who’s yet to learn those lessons. But while, I might feel disconnected with the characters, this book is moving and it is beautiful and it’s filled with life. I will say, how it opened isn’t how I thought it was when we finally get back to that moment.

Ms. Lunsford didn’t eviscerate me in this book like she did in Brise. There were moments in that book that I couldn’t breathe. But don’t think that means she’s taking it easy in this one. Oh nooo, she doesn’t. I’ve only read two of her books, but she tackles some VERY difficult situations. Situations that would obliterate people’s lives and change them irrevocably. And they do, and she reflects that. But they come back to their center. So, would I recommend this book? Yes I would. If you’ve read Brise, you’ll love seeing Brett, James, Phoebe, Nana, and Luke. But most importantly, it is a wonderful story about perseverance and forgiveness.

 

about

Leigh Ann Lunsford is stay at home mom turned author. She writes Contemporary Romance/New Adult/Romantic Suspense and loves her happily ever after in all books and movies. She lives with her husband, son, and four dogs in Fleming Island, Florida. When she isn’t writing or reading you can find her stuck in front of really bad reality shows or watching Sons of Anarchy. Leigh Ann has a filthy mouth and a huge amount of sarcasm that knows no end. She hopes to give the voices in her head an outlet with many more novels to come.

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Leigh Ann Lunsford, Release Day Blitz, Romance

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

