Billionaire Takes All – Jackson Kane

billionaire takes all jackson kane

blurb

I just lost my half of five billion dollars.

Five. Billion. Fucking dollars.

I crushed the phone in my hand, but the voicemail chimed in my brain like church bells at midnight. It was probably the same message my brother just got.

“Your father is dying. The inheritance is no longer yours or your brother’s. If you want a chance at that money, you’re going to have to play by some… unconventional rules.”

Rules? Fuck that!

I didn’t get this far by following anyone’s rules.

“Only one of you can win,” The message said. “The other gets nothing.”

I did know one thing.
If this really was a competition between my brother and I for the whole King fortune, I was going to win.

That’s probably exactly what Richard is saying right now too. He and I hate each other, we have for years.

With my hand throbbing, I flexed my fingers. The final sentence of that damn message had flipped my life upside down and kicked it down the fucking sidewalk.
“Good luck, Lucas. You’re going to need it.”

One thing’s for sure, our sleepy town of Caldwell Hope is in for a rude awakening.

When the King brothers come back home all hell’s breaking loose

Blog Images

***I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% my own.***

Generally I give my rundown of the basic premise of the book, but really, I’m of two minds here. So, I apologize if I break my usual style for this review. Because of that, I’d give this book a solid 3.5 STARS.

We are dealing with dual POVs in this story, which isn’t unusual in a romance. But, in all honesty, I wouldn’t label this a romance…yet it’s still a romance. See, I’m of two minds. Let me address the romance issue. This side of the book, I’d give 3 stars. There’s not much emotional investment in the romance. Yes, it’s there, BUT we’re torn between the brothers. (NO! There is NO love triangle!!!) It’s hard to be emotionally involved when we’re getting dueling love stories, especially ones in such a short book. It makes the stories feel even shorter because of it. On the romance side alone, these books would have been better served split into their own complete love stories. Then we would have time to fall in love with the characters ourselves as readers.

On that other hand though…this book is about so much more than romance. This is a story of a broken family. It’s of a dying man who realized too little too late that the real wealth in life is love and family, and he’s doing his best to make it right. It’s of two brothers who have a dilapidated bridge between them. Neither is willing to fix it but neither can burn it either. In this regard, the book is PERFECTLY written. We get to see both brothers. We get to experience both of their hurts and their hearts. We develop a love for the both of them, and honestly as a reader, I found myself rooting for one, then the other, then the one again, then giving up and praying that it all came to a happy end for them both.

So all that being said, I won’t label this a romance. This is most definitely a love story. This is a love story about a father that loved his boys so much that he did something to try to force them to work together. This is a love story about two brothers who lost their way with one another and their road to rebuild that broken bridge between them. And this is a love story about a broken rock star who left the love of his life in order to save the first love of his life…his mom. And this is a love story about a desperately aloof businessman, who needs spontaneity and light in his life.

Mr. Kane’s debut novel is more than just a mere romance. This is a novel about family and love and the importance of them both. I will say that having the dueling brothers as the POV characters was a unique experience. I hope to see more out of this author in the future. So, would I recommend this book, oh dear readers? I would. Don’t expect a romance, but do expect an amazing love story with romantic elements.

about

I’m a bad boy, an adventurer, a romance author and above all else hopeless romantic. I’ve been all around the world and met tons of amazing people and you know what I’ve found? I love readers the most. Books open our minds, make us feel things we never thought possible. You might not be able to travel the world, but that’s why I’m here. In my books you’ll meet my friends, lovers and all the wonderful people that inspire me every day and make life worth living. I’ll show you what the world looks like through the eyes of a genuine Bad Boy. Come with me and read dangerously. My name’s Jackson Kane and I write Romance that’ll make you sweat.

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Fiction, Jackson Kane, Romance

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

