Winter is coming…

Hey everyone! I’m so excited to be joining Tracy on the blog, but I was also crazy nervous! Why?!….because we do read a few of the same books! What if I didn’t have anything new to contribute?! What if all the books I love are horrible, and I never knew it?! So after eating a freak out brownie, I immediately started trying to think of an author that she hadn’t already featured that would make a great first blog. This is the 1st series that popped into my head! I hope you will all enjoy it as much as I have. XOXO, Amber

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn’t forgotten their warning to “stay away.” For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the “special gifts” that must be left at the back of the property.
Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, he takes Salome’s life in a new direction. A direction where she’ll have to decide between her longtime crush, Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin, who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop.

An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

This book drew me in immediately. The cover is hauntingly beautiful and the story matches. The plot surrounds a normal young girl who is thrown into the magical world of Fae. There seems to be  a growing trend in YA to make Fae these benevolent creatures you can’t help but swoon for, and while I love that, I also love a good story that tells the darker origins of Fae. This author was able to blend the two worlds beautifully giving readers both heroes to swoon for and delicious villains to loath. The story had many twists and turns that I found fun and more importantly left me guessing. There was one thing about this book that annoyed me at first….and so I must warn you  (because we’re friends now) there is a love triangle? ….quadrangle? Is that even a thing?! It is in this book! Now, I know what you’re thinking….that sounds like it’s going to be horrible (and at first it kinda was), but the way it all came together in the end was pure genius! I wasn’t able to guess what was going to happen, and as an avid reader that’s REALLY hard to do! This is the first book in a series, but it “feels” like a stand-alone. You could read this, never move on to the next book, and still feel fulfilled. (Don’t do that though! You’ll DEFINITELY want to read the next one, but more about that later.)  Overall I loved the book. It had a few cliché YA tropes but nothing that takes away from the quality of the story. It’s definitely a book I can read more than once, so I’m gonna give it 🌮🌮🌮🌮
(bc tacos are way cooler than stars)

Rebekah Purdy grew up in Michigan, where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. When not hiding at her computer and getting lost in her stories, she enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, and hanging out with her kids. She may or may not have an obsession with anything chocolate…Rebekah currently resides in Michigan with her husband, kids, and gazillion pets.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Winter is coming…

  1. Congrats on 1st blog, loved it, and your taco rating!! Thank you for reminding me how much I desperately want the series!!

    Liked by 1 person

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

