Preppy: The Life and Death of Samuel Clearwater Part 1(The King Series Book 5) – T.M. Frazier

preppy-tm-frazier

blurb

GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS NOMINEE FOR BEST ROMANCE

Samuel Clearwater, A.K.A Preppy, likes bowties, pancakes, suspenders, good friends, good times, good drugs, and a good f*ck.

He’s worked his way out from beneath a hellish childhood and is living the life he’s always imagined for himself. When he meets a girl, a junkie on the verge of ending it all, he’s torn between his feelings for her and the crippling fear that she could be the one to end the life he loves.

Andrea ‘Dre’ Capulet is strung out and tired.

Tired of living for her next fix. Tired of doing things that make her stomach turn. Tired of looking in the mirror at the reflection of the person she’s become. Just when she decides to end it all, she meets a man who will change the course of both their lives forever.

And their deaths.

For most people, death is the end of their story.
For Preppy and Dre, death was only the beginning.

This is the fifth book in the King Series and it’s meant to be read after Soulless.

Blog Images

We met Preppy in King. We fell in love with him then, and that never changed through Tyrant, Lawless, or Soulless. I’ll be honest, I’ve been finished with this book for a while. I haven’t written my review yet because every time I sit down to do it, I can’t write what I really want to say without giving anything away. I will say that in order to read this book, read the first four books first. It’s important. Because though MOST of this book occurs before King, how it ends up…is after Soulless. And because you’re going to NEED to read those to truly grasp what’s going on in Preppy. I own this book in print and in audiobook. I don’t have the ebook of it. This review will reflect the audiobook version.

Gah! What to say…Preppy is one of those side characters that I’m not 100% sure was intended to be anything more than an interesting side character, but he resonates with a person. Something about that bowtie wearing, foul-mouth having, pancake eating man, just calls to people. The emotions this character pulls out of the reader is amazing. And this is all BEFORE we get to his story. There is definitely laughter and tears and rage. And in all honesty, I was half afraid of reading/listening to this book. I was afraid that I’d built this larger than life expectation on how this story would go and I’d find this story flat and boring by comparison. I’ve done that a time or two. However, I’m OH SO GLAD that I did finally break down and give it a whirl because Oh my gosh! Those emotions that the character invokes as a side is minor compared to the emotions that you get when you’re wrapped up in his head. And Mr. Lance Greenfield and Ms. Kirsten Leigh do an AMAZING job acting out this story.

Mr. Greenfield and Ms. Leigh didn’t just narrate this story, they breathed life into it and gave the characters a roundness that made these characters feel real. So their heartache was mine, their joy and shame was also mine to share with them. I really think they did an amazing job with this book. So much so, that though I will be buying the rest of Preppy’s stories in paperback, I’ll also be getting the audiobook versions. It’s just that freaking good.

I know my review really isn’t telling much but honestly, I can’t get started because if I did, I’d ruin the whole series for you. The only thing I can say is, if you read King and love Preppy in it, get the rest of the series and read on, because the Preppy you meet in King is a shadow of the man you read in his own story.

Ms. Frazier really has outdone herself with this book. I really enjoyed the rest of this series and I couldn’t imagine that Preppy would be better than I thought it would be, but she completely floored me with this book, it went beyond what I had hoped. So, OH YES, I’d recommend this book, and in doing so, I’m recommending the entire King Series. You’ll need the other four for this to really make sense.

about

T.M. Frazier is a USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR best known for her KING SERIES. She was born on Long Island, NY. When she was eight years old she moved with her mom, dad, and older sister to sunny Southwest Florida where she still lives today with her husband and daughter.
When she was in middle school she was in a club called AUTHORS CLUB with a group of other young girls interested in creative writing. Little did she know that years later life would come full circle.
After graduating high school, she attended Florida Gulf Coast University and had every intention of becoming a news reporter when she got sucked into real estate where she worked in sales for over ten years.
Throughout the years T.M. never gave up the dream of writing and with her husband’s encouragement, and a lot of sleepless nights, she realized her dream and released her first novel, The Dark Light of Day, in 2013.
She’s never looked back.
Visit her at http://www.tmfrazierbooks.com for news, information, and appearances.

Leave a comment

Filed under 18+, Fiction, Romance, T.M.Frazier

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

