Words with T.M. Frazier ***Interview***

preppy-2-tm-frazier

 

With the recent release of Preppy: The Life and Death of Samuel Clearwater Part 1 Book 5 of the King Series and the upcoming release of Preppy: The Life and Death of Samuel Clearwater Part 2 Book 6 of the King Series, I asked Ms. Frazier if I could ask her a few questions about her writing and this series in particular.

If you’ve read ANY of the King series, then you know Preppy. You’ve fallen in love with the supremely foul mouthed, bow-tie wearing, sexual deviant that he is. When there’s a character THIS dynamic and filled with such depth, you just know that there’s a story lurking under the surface. And so, because I love Preppy so, #BowTieTillIDie type thing, I had to find out more from the woman who created him.

I hope you enjoy the interview. OH! And if you’ve come looking for spoilers…yeah, move on. She didn’t offer any up. 😛

interview

 

T.M., thank you for accepting my request for an interview on my blog, Textual Love. As promised, the questions will in no way contain or ask for any sort of spoilers. This might disappoint the readers, but they can deal with it. 😛

 

I haven’t read all your books (I know! Bad Tracy (with the y)!). I started with King and have made my way through to Preppy: The Life and Death of Samuel Clearwater Book 1. The prior books, The Dark Light of Day, Dark Needs, and All the Rage, seem to be loosely connected to the King Series. Was that intentional from the beginning? Or did they just kind of morph that way?

They kind of morphed that way. It’s hard to let characters and places go that I’ve been with for so long and love with all my heart so I incorporated the other stories I wanted to write into the ‘KING’ world. Which technically is The Dark Light of Day world since I wrote that first.

Did you have the entire King Series plotted out before you started writing King or did the characters scream to you that they needed their own story, too? (This being Bear and Preppy for the readers.)

Yes and no. I always have loose ideas and I didn’t know how the readers would respond to Preppy or Bear’s characters so I never knew if I was going to write their books until I found out but the plots were loosely planned for sure.

Do you have a character that resonated with you the most? Which character was the hardest to write? Is there a character you wished you’d written a little differently?

Reading my books back now is torture and there is a lot of things I would change but at one point you really do just have to say that the book is done and all the changing in the world wouldn’t make a difference. The characters themselves I wouldn’t change at all. I love each and every one of them for different reasons. Preppy has been the most complicated and most fun to write but he’s ALSO the hardest.

What’s your writing process? Are you a pantser or a plotter or some variant in between? Do you have a dedicated writing space and time or ritual? Basically, tell us how you create your magic. Every author has their own method of building their magic, I’m curious about yours.

I’m somewhere in between. Also, I write out of order so I’m a huge mess during the writing process because it usually doesn’t come fully together until the last minute. But I’ve tried other ways and failed so I’ve learned to accept that this is just my process.  While I write I need music and headphones and I need to be alone. I can’t write with a TV on or people in the room.  I get distracted way too easily especially since I have an adorable husband and an even more adorable toddler.

What can we expect to see from you in the future? Are you going to continue to explore this world with the penis painted water tower, or are you do you have something completely different in the works? (Not asking for spoilers, just a curiosity.)

Preppy parts two and three are on the way as well as Smoke’s book (A character from Rage) it will be called Up in Smoke but I don’t know WHEN it will be out. I am also writing a book with another author that we hope to release in 2017 but it’s top secret so we aren’t announcing anything until WHEN and IF it’s done because we are both crazy busy. I have a few other things up my sleeve, but I haven’t planned everything out just yet. I hope to release 5 books in 2017.  ❤ 

Leave a comment

Filed under Interview, T.M.Frazier

Shoot it to me straight, Jack!

